TikTok Marketing: if not now, when?

TikTok Marketing

In case you’ve been living under a rock, TikTok has fast become part of the regular social media repertoire for consumers and businesses alike. With Instagram and Facebook now including sections called ‘reels’ (aka TikTok videos reshared) to accommodate their growing popularity, TikTok has undoubtedly made a big name for itself in such a short space of time. More and more businesses are finding that TikTok Marketing is helping them gain exposure to newer, highly engaged audiences. 

Video content has been on the rise for several years now, but TikTok has now cemented video content as a must in both organic and paid content. If you’re not doing video content yet, you’re missing out on valuable reach and risk falling behind to your competitors. Unlike the other prominent video platform, YouTube, managing a TikTok account for your business is surprisingly easy to do.

But wait – isn’t TikTok only for young people, Marie? How could my business possibly fit in TikTok?

Why, no! There is something for everyone on TikTok – you’d be surprised at how diverse the crowd is, and how many areas are hidden around this little world.

 

There’s #BookTok for all the book worms..

Stacebookspace – https://www.tiktok.com/@stacebookspace

Tianareads – https://www.tiktok.com/@tianareads

Robert Reads – https://www.tiktok.com/@robert.reads

Luckies Universe – https://www.tiktok.com/@luckies_universe

 

And the authors trying to get traction for their latest books.

MV Ellis – https://www.tiktok.com/@mvellisauthor

Rachael Johns – https://www.tiktok.com/@authorrachaeljohns

 

There’s a section for bakers, chefs and foodies…

Tigga Maccormack – https://www.tiktok.com/@tigga_mac

Amazing grazers – https://www.tiktok.com/@amazing_grazers

Beta Tempered – https://www.tiktok.com/@beta.tempered

Hoda Hannaway – https://www.tiktok.com/@hodahannaway

Hwoo Lee – https://www.tiktok.com/@hwoo.lee

Liz Miu – https://www.tiktok.com/@itslizmiu

 

And there’s a space for the skit performers and comedians. 

KallMeKris – https://www.tiktok.com/@kallmekris

Milliegram – https://www.tiktok.com/@milligram96

Katie Florence (aka The Kouncil) – https://www.tiktok.com/@katieflorence 

Tanya Hennessy – https://www.tiktok.com/@tanyahennessy

Christian Hull – https://www.tiktok.com/@christianmhull

Groovy nanny granny – https://www.tiktok.com/@grooveynannygranny

Tamzjadecomedy – https://www.tiktok.com/@tamzjadecomedy

 

Dancers show off their talents – from HipHop to Ballet to Burlesque

The Moulin Rouge Australian cast – https://www.tiktok.com/@itsbroooseph

Nathan Lust – https://www.tiktok.com/@nathanlust

Belle Urwin – https://www.tiktok.com/@belle_urwin

 

There are the parents sharing about life, step parenting, and videos with kids

Ben and Zara – https://www.tiktok.com/@benandzara

Hungry fam – https://www.tiktok.com/@hungry_fam

Your korean dad  https://www.tiktok.com/@yourkoreandad

Zeth and Saylor – https://www.tiktok.com/@zeth

 

There’s financiers and fitness trainers

(#budgeting and #GymTok is currently trending)

Robbie Weir Fitness – https://www.tiktok.com/@robbieweirfitness

Ria Mestiza – https://www.tiktok.com/@riamestiza

Beth Clare Fitness – https://www.tiktok.com/@bethclarefitness

 

There’s life coaches, business coaches, dating coaches, and kind folks with their daily dose of positivity (#selfcare)

It’s Lennie – https://www.tiktok.com/@itslennnie

Eros Miranda – https://www.tiktok.com/@eros_miranda

Leanne Melody – https://www.tiktok.com/@leannemelody_

Thriving with Vanessa – https://www.tiktok.com/@thrivingwithvanessa

 

There’s psychologists and skincare doctors sharing their knowledge

Dr Kristyn Sommer – https://www.tiktok.com/@drkristynsommer

Dr Julie Smith – https://www.tiktok.com/@drjuliesmith

Dr Prasanthi – https://www.tiktok.com/@lorientskin

Dr Michelle Wong – https://www.tiktok.com/@labmuffinbeautyscience

 

And history and knowledge lovers

Aslan Pahari – https://www.tiktok.com/@paharikawa

Tani Berlo – https://www.tiktok.com/@taniberlo

TikTok10quiz – https://www.tiktok.com/@tiktok10quiz

Ancestral brew – https://www.tiktok.com/@ancestralbrew

 

There’s the makeup artists and fashion lovers 

(Get ready with me is often abbreviated to #GRWM, #fashionindustry and #styleinspo are all trending right now).

Misplaced Style – https://www.tiktok.com/@misplacedstyle

Ask Ellen Beauty – https://www.tiktok.com/@askellenbeauty

Whatmyboyfriendwore – https://www.tiktok.com/@whatmyboyfriendwore

Denisemmercedes – https://www.tiktok.com/@denisemmercedes

Scortezz beauty – https://www.tiktok.com/@scortezzbeauty

 

There’s digital artists, painters and illustrators

(#digitalart and #ArtistsOfTikTok are currently trending)

Kayla Coombs – https://www.tiktok.com/@kayla.coombs

Kerri Kat – https://www.tiktok.com/@kerrikat19

Sid Pattni – https://www.tiktok.com/@sidpattni

The Kookie Studio – https://www.tiktok.com/@thekookiestudio

 

There’s singers, musicians, and voice over artists

Horizon Music – https://www.tiktok.com/@h3rizonmusic

Darcy Stokes – https://www.tiktok.com/@darcy.stokes

Alex Van Den Broek – https://www.tiktok.com/@avdbsings

 

There’s foley artists, sound editors, true crime podcasters

Reel Foley sound – https://www.tiktok.com/@reelfoleysound

Elly Vickere – https://www.tiktok.com/@ellyvickere

 

And if you search #petsoftiktok, you’re in for a dose of some adorable feel good videos.

Dontstopmeowing – https://www.tiktok.com/@dontstopmeowing

Mr Potato – https://www.tiktok.com/@coolestpotatoe

Twini boo – https://www.tiktok.com/@twiniboo

 

There’s small businesses

Silk it Shop – https://www.tiktok.com/@silkitshop

Perth Paint By numbers – https://www.tiktok.com/@perthpaintbynumbers

Napolean Wear – https://www.tiktok.com/@emlucin

The Customised Collective – https://www.tiktok.com/@thecustomisedcollective

Empyrean the Collective – https://www.tiktok.com/@empyreanthecollective

 

There’s DIY (#DIYprojects and #DIYTikTok) 

Something Quaint – https://www.tiktok.com/@something_quaint

Lone Fox Home – https://www.tiktok.com/@lonefoxhome

Meira Laryssa – https://www.tiktok.com/@meiralaryssa

 

There’s lawyers, Migration Agents and even dentists!

Traci Migration – https://www.tiktok.com/@migrationlawyer

Dr Richard Lam – https://www.tiktok.com/@dr.richardlam

 

There’s even social media marketers sharing tips

Stylasocials – https://www.tiktok.com/@stylasocials

Hey Nicole Wong – https://www.tiktok.com/@heynicolewong

Jera Bean – https://www.tiktok.com/@jera.bean

 

 

Do you still think there’s no room for you or your business to be advertising on TikTok?

As with any social media channel, first consider the platform and see how you can make your brand relevant on it. It might take a bit of time and creativity but if you can swing it, it’s a different and engaging way to bring some light to your business, brand, and industry. 

Facebook and Instagram are essentially repurposing TikToks right now – video content is where the future is at – and TikTok should definitely be considered in your omni channel marketing strategy for growing your business.

The best part is, it’s so easy to make and save videos using TikTok; no additional external apps or fancy editing tools required (though you can use them if you want!)

Here are some tips to get started

Pick an area that you want to focus on
If your industry is quite broad, a good way to break into TikTok is to zone into a particular area such as busting popular myths, common pain points, behind the scenes of making your product. Try to keep the focus tight on one area instead of trying to spread yourself too thin across multiple areas. It also helps to interact with a few other accounts in your industry/niche to help increase your exposure.

Lastly, picking one area or method will also help you zone in on the correct audiences. There was one business owner on TikTok, who went viral in the wrong niche by regularly posted images of her wearing her products (bikinis). As a result, she had amassed a large male following (who might’ve liked her videos but weren’t the ones likely to be buying her products!) She changed her strategy to sharing behind the scenes videos of packaging her products instead in order to appeal to her main, female demographic. Her audience, sales, and engagement dramatically improved.

Consistency is key
As with all social media channels, regular posting is essential for continued engagement and growth. Consistent activity will help the TikTok algorithms to keep sharing your content to your followers and people who may like your stuff. Once you’ve started posting regularly, you’ll recognise the types of things that your audiences like the most, and consistently delivering the same kind of content will help continue to grow your following in the desired groups.

Don’t delete your old videos that don’t perform
This is tempting when you have videos that don’t perform (especially in the beginning when you’re still finding your feet) but don’t delete them. TikTok’s algorithm is a little different to other platforms in that it delays showing your videos to different people at different times. Additionally, for new followers, your older videos still get shown to them months after they’ve started following you!

Try the new transition and sound trends
This is a great idea when trying to decide how to showcase product demos or videos that humanise your staff a bit more. The Discover Tab on TikTok regularly updates with all the latest trending sounds and hashtags.

If you’re keen to do more video content this year, but aren’t sure how to get started, please get in touch with us! Start with a quick cup of coffee, and let’s go from there!

Share article

Marie Carbone

Marie Carbone

Marie is a Solutions Architect at Social Media AOK. With a coffee in one hand and her phone permanently attached to the other, Marie is on a mission to change the world one digital channel at a time.